Home / Compare / Average insurance costs by state
Average insurance costs by state
What drivers and homeowners actually paid, from the regulators that publish it. Two new datasets sit behind this page. The NAIC published its 2024 Auto Insurance Database Average Premium Supplement in September 2026 — the newest countrywide picture of what drivers actually paid. And KFF published 2027 marketplace benchmarks showing the national benchmark premium up 12.5% on 2026, to $703 a month for a 40-year-old before subsidies. This page puts those two datasets beside the published homeowners averages — NAIC 2023, Texas TDI, and Florida OIR county data — on one citable page. Last updated: 7 November 2026.
Educational only — not a quote, not a recommendation. Every figure on this page is an average for a stated profile, from a published source, with the source, date, and profile beside it. None of them is your price: your age, vehicle, home, driving or claims history, and the cover you choose will move your price away from the average. Per-carrier prices are not on this page at all — no free source publishes them — so every carrier premium on this site stays quote-only. No savings claim appears here, no “best” verdict is drawn from these tables, and no carrier rating appears.
Auto — what drivers paid, by state
Published average
Average expenditure and combined average premium — NAIC 2024 Auto Insurance Database Average Premium Supplement, September 2026, 2024 data, all insured vehicles, 51 jurisdictions (50 states + DC). Average expenditure is what the average insured vehicle costs to insure; the combined average premium is liability + collision + comprehensive. Countrywide: average expenditure $1,431.63 per year (2023: $1,281.61); combined average premium $1,612.81 per year (2023: $1,438.51). NAIC warns state-to-state comparisons should be treated with a high degree of caution: limits, deductibles, laws, and demographics differ between states.
Source: NAIC 2024 Auto Insurance Database Average Premium Supplement (PDF), retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of September 2026. Full method: methodology page.
Ranked cheapest to most expensive by 2024 average expenditure. Sort the table by tapping a column heading. Figures are annual, in US dollars.
| — | Countrywide | $1,431.63 | $1,281.61 | $1,612.81 | $1,438.51 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | North Dakota (ND) | $907.25 | $807.76 | $1,077.51 | $961.31 |
| 2 | Maine (ME) | $934.54 | $858.91 | $1,000.13 | $925.47 |
| 3 | Hawaii (HI) | $934.69 | $889.88 | $1,051.00 | $998.13 |
| 4 | Vermont (VT) | $941.63 | $857.13 | $1,039.63 | $952.72 |
| 5 | Idaho (ID) | $955.98 | $864.05 | $1,086.21 | $981.13 |
| 6 | Iowa (IA) | $973.17 | $872.23 | $1,132.96 | $1,009.99 |
| 7 | Wyoming (WY) | $1,011.81 | $948.21 | $1,261.71 | $1,179.75 |
| 8 | Wisconsin (WI) | $1,015.35 | $917.27 | $1,112.23 | $1,003.36 |
| 9 | Indiana (IN) | $1,019.29 | $926.58 | $1,142.11 | $1,032.49 |
| 10 | Ohio (OH) | $1,036.52 | $947.05 | $1,133.98 | $1,037.08 |
| 11 | South Dakota (SD) | $1,036.93 | $934.92 | $1,290.69 | $1,157.15 |
| 12 | North Carolina (NC) | $1,038.44 | $930.78 | $1,233.32 | $1,103.09 |
| 13 | Kansas (KS) | $1,063.82 | $969.47 | $1,295.40 | $1,181.00 |
| 14 | New Hampshire (NH) | $1,073.18 | $975.84 | $1,103.33 | $1,025.48 |
| 15 | Montana (MT) | $1,080.94 | $975.05 | $1,321.59 | $1,183.72 |
| 16 | Nebraska (NE) | $1,108.40 | $980.70 | $1,345.35 | $1,183.39 |
| 17 | Kentucky (KY) | $1,149.83 | $1,045.70 | $1,337.15 | $1,208.31 |
| 18 | Tennessee (TN) | $1,165.45 | $1,048.53 | $1,353.62 | $1,211.32 |
| 19 | Arkansas (AR) | $1,172.35 | $1,032.15 | $1,465.02 | $1,277.49 |
| 20 | Alabama (AL) | $1,178.20 | $1,079.64 | $1,388.11 | $1,271.64 |
| 21 | West Virginia (WV) | $1,178.82 | $1,063.12 | $1,367.18 | $1,227.78 |
| 22 | New Mexico (NM) | $1,180.17 | $1,081.66 | $1,421.95 | $1,301.08 |
| 23 | Oklahoma (OK) | $1,182.76 | $1,081.91 | $1,453.74 | $1,326.77 |
| 24 | Virginia (VA) | $1,217.50 | $1,112.71 | $1,358.32 | $1,238.97 |
| 25 | Alaska (AK) | $1,231.43 | $1,112.97 | $1,398.93 | $1,262.49 |
| 26 | Minnesota (MN) | $1,231.57 | $1,103.20 | $1,372.61 | $1,223.39 |
| 27 | Illinois (IL) | $1,263.95 | $1,152.85 | $1,382.89 | $1,256.64 |
| 28 | Pennsylvania (PA) | $1,267.10 | $1,154.15 | $1,395.99 | $1,272.98 |
| 29 | Oregon (OR) | $1,269.34 | $1,170.85 | $1,374.74 | $1,268.81 |
| 30 | Missouri (MO) | $1,274.15 | $1,153.08 | $1,462.03 | $1,321.69 |
| 31 | Utah (UT) | $1,280.96 | $1,169.65 | $1,402.65 | $1,285.41 |
| 32 | Mississippi (MS) | $1,314.59 | $1,182.79 | $1,542.36 | $1,377.80 |
| 33 | Washington (WA) | $1,416.32 | $1,150.36 | $1,521.63 | $1,232.22 |
| 34 | California (CA) | $1,454.27 | $1,225.02 | $1,690.23 | $1,417.94 |
| 35 | Arizona (AZ) | $1,471.24 | $1,343.69 | $1,647.25 | $1,504.87 |
| 36 | South Carolina (SC) | $1,497.66 | $1,351.69 | $1,664.69 | $1,500.23 |
| 37 | Massachusetts (MA) | $1,503.52 | $1,326.46 | $1,610.84 | $1,413.49 |
| 38 | Connecticut (CT) | $1,564.17 | $1,395.92 | $1,690.07 | $1,507.66 |
| 39 | Texas (TX) | $1,578.45 | $1,428.94 | $1,917.05 | $1,726.91 |
| 40 | Colorado (CO) | $1,601.22 | $1,450.19 | $1,835.17 | $1,653.18 |
| 41 | Delaware (DE) | $1,619.81 | $1,461.77 | $1,745.95 | $1,568.56 |
| 42 | Maryland (MD) | $1,626.11 | $1,476.26 | $1,767.57 | $1,600.83 |
| 43 | Michigan (MI) | $1,630.72 | $1,446.21 | $1,791.22 | $1,575.59 |
| 44 | Rhode Island (RI) | $1,670.70 | $1,543.11 | $1,849.80 | $1,708.42 |
| 45 | Nevada (NV) | $1,703.58 | $1,462.21 | $1,865.83 | $1,600.64 |
| 46 | New Jersey (NJ) | $1,748.38 | $1,570.40 | $1,878.38 | $1,690.97 |
| 47 | Georgia (GA) | $1,757.98 | $1,554.42 | $1,972.56 | $1,745.79 |
| 48 | District of Columbia (DC) | $1,840.36 | $1,677.08 | $1,986.50 | $1,817.92 |
| 49 | Louisiana (LA) | $1,880.42 | $1,728.68 | $2,151.12 | $1,961.13 |
| 50 | New York (NY) | $1,980.93 | $1,750.97 | $2,149.87 | $1,893.57 |
| 51 | Florida (FL) | $2,017.97 | $1,878.40 | $2,174.55 | $2,000.69 |
Note on the printed figures: Florida's and Louisiana's combined premiums are copied exactly as NAIC prints them in Table 5 — Florida $2,174.55 and Louisiana $2,151.12 for 2024. The three coverage averages in Tables 1–3 sum to $0.01 more for Florida and $0.01 less for Louisiana; the difference is rounding in NAIC's own tables, and the printed figures are not “corrected” here.
By coverage — countrywide, 2024
Published average
Average premium by coverage — NAIC 2024 Auto Insurance Database Average Premium Supplement, September 2026, 2024 data, all insured vehicles. Source: NAIC (PDF), retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of September 2026.
| Coverage | Average premium per year |
|---|---|
| Liability | $813.27 |
| Collision | $516.39 |
| Comprehensive | $283.15 |
See also: the full auto comparison, with the same NAIC table beside quote-only carrier entries, on /compare/auto/.
Health — marketplace premiums, by state
Published average
Average monthly marketplace premiums by metal tier — KFF State Health Facts, for a 40-year-old, before premium tax credits, enrollment-weighted county averages, 51 jurisdictions. The benchmark plan is the second-lowest-cost silver plan; it is the plan premium tax credits are calculated from. Bronze is the lowest-cost bronze plan, silver the lowest-cost silver plan, gold the lowest-cost gold plan.
Source: KFF State Health Facts — Average Monthly Marketplace Premiums by Metal Tier, retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026. Full method: methodology page.
The 2026 benchmark average was $625 per month; the 2027 benchmark average is $703 per month — a rise of 12.5% nationally. That jump reflects expiring enhanced premium tax credits and filed rate increases for 2027. What you actually pay after tax credits can be far lower than the figure in this table: the profile here is a 40-year-old before subsidies, not your price after a credit.
Sort the table by tapping a column heading. Figures are monthly, in US dollars, before premium tax credits.
| US | $511 | $680 | $703 | $694 | $625 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama (AL) | $463 | $698 | $712 | $764 | $645 |
| Alaska (AK) | $796 | $1,119 | $1,284 | $1,014 | $1,032 |
| Arizona (AZ) | $465 | $604 | $609 | $748 | $532 |
| Arkansas (AR) | $450 | $718 | $757 | $659 | $774 |
| California (CA) | $471 | $569 | $636 | $608 | $570 |
| Colorado (CO) | $473 | $589 | $615 | $564 | $557 |
| Connecticut (CT) | $669 | $824 | $1,005 | $894 | $870 |
| Delaware (DE) | $663 | $869 | $876 | $821 | $691 |
| District of Columbia (DC) | $555 | $627 | $678 | $723 | $610 |
| Florida (FL) | $555 | $723 | $738 | $711 | $683 |
| Georgia (GA) | $572 | $722 | $733 | $785 | $615 |
| Hawaii (HI) | $448 | $568 | $592 | $597 | $541 |
| Idaho (ID) | $369 | $531 | $553 | $575 | $490 |
| Illinois (IL) | $479 | $695 | $707 | $613 | $646 |
| Indiana (IN) | $476 | $536 | $537 | $733 | $474 |
| Iowa (IA) | $371 | $513 | $528 | $504 | $501 |
| Kansas (KS) | $582 | $728 | $748 | $776 | $670 |
| Kentucky (KY) | $512 | $663 | $667 | $793 | $590 |
| Louisiana (LA) | $502 | $722 | $730 | $769 | $646 |
| Maine (ME) | $581 | $785 | $804 | $836 | $709 |
| Maryland (MD) | $293 | $459 | $491 | $454 | $414 |
| Massachusetts (MA) | $470 | $524 | $551 | $695 | $494 |
| Michigan (MI) | $430 | $573 | $595 | $608 | $523 |
| Minnesota (MN) | $417 | $506 | $525 | $570 | $448 |
| Mississippi (MS) | $700 | $795 | $814 | $980 | $662 |
| Missouri (MO) | $510 | $674 | $675 | $649 | $605 |
| Montana (MT) | $599 | $842 | $889 | $807 | $692 |
| Nebraska (NE) | $632 | $765 | $780 | $816 | $710 |
| Nevada (NV) | $440 | $564 | $565 | $711 | $497 |
| New Hampshire (NH) | $384 | $471 | $486 | $599 | $401 |
| New Jersey (NJ) | $515 | $643 | $665 | $876 | $545 |
| New Mexico (NM) | $507 | $685 | $725 | $643 | $623 |
| New York (NY) | $672 | $880 | $1,041 | $1,135 | $817 |
| North Carolina (NC) | $546 | $651 | $660 | $721 | $638 |
| North Dakota (ND) | $450 | $599 | $610 | $609 | $570 |
| Ohio (OH) | $464 | $596 | $603 | $646 | $513 |
| Oklahoma (OK) | $543 | $679 | $686 | $692 | $604 |
| Oregon (OR) | $455 | $510 | $519 | $604 | $543 |
| Pennsylvania (PA) | $426 | $628 | $648 | $546 | $572 |
| Rhode Island (RI) | $388 | $587 | $629 | $564 | $506 |
| South Carolina (SC) | $508 | $688 | $702 | $712 | $564 |
| South Dakota (SD) | $516 | $699 | $704 | $730 | $655 |
| Tennessee (TN) | $547 | $775 | $796 | $782 | $711 |
| Texas (TX) | $485 | $723 | $737 | $643 | $661 |
| Utah (UT) | $536 | $661 | $716 | $749 | $640 |
| Vermont (VT) | $859 | $1,299 | $1,313 | $1,188 | $1,299 |
| Virginia (VA) | $403 | $545 | $549 | $518 | $455 |
| Washington (WA) | $468 | $733 | $768 | $600 | $612 |
| West Virginia (WV) | $868 | $1,158 | $1,185 | $1,061 | $1,073 |
| Wisconsin (WI) | $530 | $712 | $720 | $788 | $611 |
| Wyoming (WY) | $875 | $1,190 | $1,190 | $1,076 | $1,090 |
These are averages for a 40-year-old before subsidies. Your premium depends on your age, household size, income (which sets your tax credit), county, and the plan you choose. Use the ACA subsidy calculator to work out what a credit could do for you. See also: the full health comparison on /compare/health/.
Home — what homeowners paid, by state and county
Homeowners (HO-3) average premium by state, 2023
Published average
Average homeowners premium, HO-3 standard owner-occupied form — NAIC Dwelling Fire, Homeowners Owner-Occupied, and Homeowners Tenant and Condominium/Cooperative Unit Owner's Insurance Report: Data for 2023, July 2026, Table 4 Total row per state, 51 jurisdictions. Countrywide HO-3: $1,737 per year. Lowest state: Wisconsin $923 per year. Highest state: Louisiana $3,027 per year. Oregon: $1,003 per year — an earlier secondary figure of $893 for Oregon is the 2022 value, not 2023, and is not used here.
Renters (HO-4) countrywide: $173 per year. Dwelling-fire countrywide: $1,019 per year — dwelling-fire cover is not directly comparable to homeowners cover, so it is shown separately and never averaged in with HO-3.
Source: NAIC Homeowners Report, data for 2023 (PDF), retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026. Full method: methodology page.
Sort the table by tapping a column heading. Figures are annual, in US dollars.
| Countrywide | $1,737 |
|---|---|
| Alabama (AL) | $1,906 |
| Alaska (AK) | $1,216 |
| Arizona (AZ) | $1,194 |
| Arkansas (AR) | $1,870 |
| California (CA) | $1,655 |
| Colorado (CO) | $2,492 |
| Connecticut (CT) | $2,036 |
| Delaware (DE) | $1,196 |
| District of Columbia (DC) | $1,545 |
| Florida (FL) | $2,779 |
| Georgia (GA) | $1,828 |
| Hawaii (HI) | $1,549 |
| Idaho (ID) | $1,135 |
| Illinois (IL) | $1,480 |
| Indiana (IN) | $1,259 |
| Iowa (IA) | $1,342 |
| Kansas (KS) | $1,733 |
| Kentucky (KY) | $1,525 |
| Louisiana (LA) | $3,027 |
| Maine (ME) | $1,150 |
| Maryland (MD) | $1,578 |
| Massachusetts (MA) | $2,134 |
| Michigan (MI) | $1,110 |
| Minnesota (MN) | $1,988 |
| Mississippi (MS) | $2,029 |
| Missouri (MO) | $1,589 |
| Montana (MT) | $1,768 |
| Nebraska (NE) | $2,142 |
| Nevada (NV) | $1,013 |
| New Hampshire (NH) | $1,300 |
| New Jersey (NJ) | $1,551 |
| New Mexico (NM) | $1,490 |
| New York (NY) | $1,801 |
| North Carolina (NC) | $1,852 |
| North Dakota (ND) | $1,414 |
| Ohio (OH) | $1,116 |
| Oklahoma (OK) | $2,486 |
| Oregon (OR) | $1,003 |
| Pennsylvania (PA) | $1,217 |
| Rhode Island (RI) | $2,396 |
| South Carolina (SC) | $1,753 |
| South Dakota (SD) | $1,614 |
| Tennessee (TN) | $1,649 |
| Texas (TX) | $2,864 |
| Utah (UT) | $1,107 |
| Vermont (VT) | $1,215 |
| Virginia (VA) | $1,537 |
| Washington (WA) | $1,232 |
| West Virginia (WV) | $1,179 |
| Wisconsin (WI) | $923 |
| Wyoming (WY) | $1,853 |
Texas — average premium, 2019–2025
Published average
Average homeowners premium, Texas — Texas Department of Insurance, Homeowners Market Overview, 2025 preliminary. Average coverage in 2025: $432,800. Active policies in 2025: 8,233,096.
Source: Texas Department of Insurance — Homeowners Market Overview, retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026. Full method: methodology page.
| Year | Average premium per year |
|---|---|
| 2019 | $1,961 |
| 2020 | $1,987 |
| 2021 | $2,124 |
| 2022 | $2,374 |
| 2023 | $2,795 |
| 2024 | $3,291 |
| 2025 (preliminary) | $3,489 |
Florida — average homeowners premium by county
Published average
Average premium actually charged — Florida Office of Insurance Regulation, Property Insurance Stability Report, 1 July 2026, Market Intelligence Report data as of 31 March 2026. Method: total premium in force divided by policies in force, owner-occupied homeowners policies in the admitted market. The average homeowners premium (traditional policies including wind) fell in 51 of 67 counties from the January 2026 report. The report also publishes condo unit-owner averages; only homeowners figures are shown here.
Source: Florida OIR Property Insurance Stability Report (PDF), retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026. Full method: methodology page.
No statewide row is shown, because the report does not print one. Statewide averages sometimes quoted elsewhere ($3,757 with wind / $2,586 without) do not appear anywhere in this report PDF, so they are not published here. A simple mean of the 67 county averages would be unweighted and wrong, and has not been computed.
Sort the table by tapping a column heading. Figures are annual, in US dollars. “—” means the report prints no policies in force for that cell.
| Alachua | $2,525 | $1,804 |
|---|---|---|
| Baker | $2,346 | $2,913 |
| Bay | $3,465 | $1,577 |
| Bradford | $2,623 | $1,950 |
| Brevard | $3,532 | $1,975 |
| Broward | $6,136 | $3,008 |
| Calhoun | $3,122 | $2,649 |
| Charlotte | $3,160 | $1,661 |
| Citrus | $2,456 | $1,560 |
| Clay | $2,540 | $2,047 |
| Collier | $5,534 | $3,169 |
| Columbia | $2,557 | $2,118 |
| Desoto | $3,421 | $2,167 |
| Dixie | $2,748 | $1,559 |
| Duval | $2,786 | $2,095 |
| Escambia | $3,702 | $1,670 |
| Flagler | $2,488 | $1,641 |
| Franklin | $5,221 | $1,954 |
| Gadsden | $2,723 | $2,226 |
| Gilchrist | $2,513 | $1,872 |
| Glades | $3,477 | $2,019 |
| Gulf | $3,752 | $1,612 |
| Hamilton | $2,711 | $2,044 |
| Hardee | $3,376 | $2,246 |
| Hendry | $2,999 | $1,983 |
| Hernando | $2,360 | $1,985 |
| Highlands | $2,736 | $1,599 |
| Hillsborough | $3,525 | $2,676 |
| Holmes | $2,942 | $2,560 |
| Indian River | $4,334 | $2,744 |
| Jackson | $2,851 | $2,300 |
| Jefferson | $2,782 | $2,083 |
| Lafayette | $2,903 | $1,649 |
| Lake | $2,650 | $1,988 |
| Lee | $3,576 | $2,119 |
| Leon | $2,538 | $1,710 |
| Levy | $2,698 | $1,634 |
| Liberty | $2,880 | $1,872 |
| Madison | $2,735 | $1,482 |
| Manatee | $3,181 | $1,859 |
| Marion | $2,191 | $1,766 |
| Martin | $5,899 | $2,471 |
| Miami-Dade | $5,975 | $3,779 |
| Monroe | $7,863 | $1,871 |
| Nassau | $3,051 | $1,608 |
| Okaloosa | $3,889 | $1,889 |
| Okeechobee | $3,730 | $1,973 |
| Orange | $3,610 | $2,565 |
| Osceola | $2,940 | $2,433 |
| Palm Beach | $6,323 | $3,175 |
| Pasco | $2,756 | $1,917 |
| Pinellas | $4,063 | $2,034 |
| Polk | $2,767 | $2,185 |
| Putnam | $2,621 | $1,768 |
| Santa Rosa | $3,512 | $1,951 |
| Sarasota | $3,457 | $1,482 |
| Seminole | $3,545 | $2,372 |
| St. Johns | $2,883 | $2,055 |
| St. Lucie | $3,491 | $1,932 |
| Sumter | $2,105 | $1,352 |
| Suwannee | $2,749 | $1,783 |
| Taylor | $2,698 | $1,300 |
| Union | $2,667 | $3,475 |
| Volusia | $2,808 | $1,637 |
| Wakulla | $2,292 | $1,956 |
| Walton | $5,409 | $1,891 |
| Washington | $2,871 | $2,628 |
California — average premium (separate figures, read the flag)
Published average
Average homeowners premium — California Department of Insurance, Sustainable Insurance Strategy, page updated 27 October 2026. California: $1,571 per year. United States: $1,512 per year.
Source: California Department of Insurance — Sustainable Insurance Strategy, retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026. Full method: methodology page.
Flag: the data year is not stated. The California Department of Insurance page does not say which year these averages cover. Do not read them as the same series as the NAIC 2023 figures above — the NAIC California HO-3 average for 2023 is $1,655 and the countrywide HO-3 average is $1,737, a different measure from a different source. These two CDI figures are kept in this separate box for that reason, and are never mixed with the NAIC table.
See also: the full home comparison, with the same averages beside quote-only carrier entries, on /compare/home/.
What is NOT here
This page shows only what a free official source publishes as an average. Three things are missing on purpose:
- Life, pet, travel, and umbrella averages. No free official source was found that publishes an average premium for any of these lines, so no figure is shown for them — not even an estimate. The line pages show what each carrier publishes (cover options, features, discounts, quote routes) instead of a price.
- Per-carrier prices. No free source publishes a per-carrier base premium for auto or home, so every carrier premium on this site is quote-only: no price is shown for any provider, and you get the price from the carrier's own quote route.
- Flood averages. No FEMA-published national average flood premium is shown here, because none was found in the published sources used for this page. Standard home policies generally exclude flood; flood is a separate policy or endorsement where offered.
The honesty is the point: a table with a gap stated beats a table with a gap filled in from an unofficial source.
Methodology and sources
Figures are copied exactly as the source prints them — no rounding, no estimating, no “correcting” a source's own rounding. Every figure on this page carries the “Published average” label with its statistic, source, date, and profile. The full method for each source is on the methodology page; the notes below are the short version, one per source.
- NAIC auto — National Association of Insurance Commissioners, 2024 Auto Insurance Database Average Premium Supplement, September 2026, 2024 data, 51 jurisdictions, all insured vehicles. Retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of September 2026.
- KFF health — KFF State Health Facts, Average Monthly Marketplace Premiums by Metal Tier, 2027 by tier + 2026 benchmark, 40-year-old, before premium tax credits, enrollment-weighted county averages, 51 jurisdictions. Retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026.
- NAIC homeowners (HO-3) — National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Dwelling Fire, Homeowners Owner-Occupied, and Homeowners Tenant and Condominium/Cooperative Unit Owner's Insurance Report: Data for 2023, July 2026, Table 4 Total row per state, HO-3 standard owner-occupied form, 51 jurisdictions. Retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026.
- TDI Texas — Texas Department of Insurance, Homeowners Market Overview, 2019–2025 series, 2025 preliminary. Retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026.
- Florida OIR — Florida Office of Insurance Regulation, Property Insurance Stability Report, 1 July 2026, county table pp. 19–21, Market Intelligence Report data as of 31 March 2026; average premium actually charged (total premium in force divided by policies in force). Retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026.
- CDI California — California Department of Insurance, Sustainable Insurance Strategy, page updated 27 October 2026. Data year not stated on the source page — flagged in its own box above, never mixed with NAIC. Retrieved 2026-11-06. Current as of November 2026.
Last updated: 7 November 2026. Next review due: May 2027. Averages are reviewed at least every six months; an average past its review date is flagged, not silently left as if current.
Download the data: average-insurance-costs-by-state.csv — every table on this page (auto, health, homeowners, Texas, Florida counties, California), with the same figures as the tables above, generated from src/lib/averages.js. No new figures: the CSV is the page's tables in portable form.
Disclosure
This page is educational only. Countrypilot.net is not an insurer, not a broker and not an agent for any company. Published averages on this page come from the NAIC 2024 Auto Insurance Database Average Premium Supplement (September 2026), KFF State Health Facts (retrieved 2026-11-06), the NAIC 2023 Homeowners Report (July 2026), the Texas Department of Insurance Homeowners Market Overview (2025 preliminary), the California Department of Insurance Sustainable Insurance Strategy (page updated 27 October 2026; data year not stated), and the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation Property Insurance Stability Report (1 July 2026, data as of 31 March 2026) — all retrieved 2026-11-06, with the source, date, and profile stated beside every figure. The final price, eligibility and terms for any policy come only from the carrier or a licensed agent, and plan documents govern over any summary here. No company paid for placement.
Questions, corrections, or media enquiries: see the contact page. No expert quote is carried on this page: none was supplied for it, and none is invented.