Compare pet insurance companies
Educational only — not a quote, not a recommendation. This site is not an insurer or a broker, and nothing on this page is a personalised price. A final price comes only from the carrier or a licensed agent, after underwriting. Pet insurance providers, compared side by side on published plans, reimbursement, deductibles and limits. Only two published starting claims appear on this page, each with its full profile and date; everything else is quote-only, because a pet premium depends on breed, age, location and plan choices.
How to read “Not published”: it means the 2026-11-05 research did not verify that item on a carrier or official page. It is not a zero, not a “no”, and it is never filled in from a third-party table. Where a figure is published, its profile, date and source sit next to it.
How to use this comparison
- Pick 2 or 3 companies with the checkboxes below the table heading, and compare them side by side.
- Compare like for like: the same limits, the same deductible, the same cover type. A cheaper headline with a lower limit is not the same cover.
- Check the official link in the row before you decide — the carrier's own page and plan documents are the final word, and availability varies by state, county and plan.
- Use the tools beside this page to work out what you need first, then take that need to the official quote. No personal details are collected anywhere on this page.
Nationwide Pet's clean quote path was not verified in the 2026-11-05 research, so its row links to the provider's official page and is labelled “Official page”, never “Get a quote”.
Pet companies — full table
| Company | Published packages / cover options | Key features | Deductibles / limits where published | Discounts where published | Premium availability | Official link | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nationwide Pet | Dogs, cats, plus birds and exotics. Dog/cat tiers in secondary summaries: Whole Pet (percentage reimbursement), Whole Pet with Wellness, Major Medical (benefit-schedule, not percentage), Major Medical with Wellness and stand-alone wellness. Workplace-only My Pet Protection Choice: two ready-made employee plans plus a customisable plan; accident required, illness/hereditary/wellness optional; behaviour, prescription food and supplements optional. | Avian/exotic cover by phone. Pre-existing conditions are not covered (workplace sheet). | Workplace-plan sheet figures, NOT consumer published averages: reimbursement 50%/70%/80% (customisable) or 80% ready-made; annual deductible $250 ready-made or $100–$500 custom; annual maximum $5,000 ready-made or $2,500/$5,000 custom. | Not published | Quote-only / not published. Third-party monthly starting claims and Whole Pet cap and reimbursement claims are NOT official-page verified and are deliberately omitted, without reproducing their figures here. Age and enrolment caps in third-party summaries were not verified officially. | Official page — No clean quote path was verified in the 2026-11-05 research, so this is labelled Official page, not Get a quote; quote entry is on the provider site. Information article: nationwide.com/lc/resources/home/articles/should-i-get-pet-insurance (information page only, not a quote link). | petinsurance.com / nationwide.com, retrieved 2026-11-05 |
| Lemonade Pet | Dogs and cats only. Base accident and illness (diagnostics, procedures, medications for new accidents/illnesses). Customisable annual limit, deductible and co-insurance. Add-ons: vet visit fees, dental illness, physical therapy, behavioural conditions and end-of-life costs. Preventive care packages including a puppy/kitten package under age 2. | Base covers new accidents and illnesses only. Waiting periods (official page): 2 days for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 6 months for cruciate ligament events. | Not published | 10% bundle discount if home or renters cover is also with Lemonade; multi-pet discount (September 2026 launch release; no percentage stated there). | Published starting claim, NOT a personal quote: the official pet page says cover “starts at $10 per month”, with price depending on breed, age, add-ons, deductible/co-insurance and local vet costs. Footprint: 44 states plus DC as of the 22 Sep 2026 Kentucky launch (official press release via Morningstar) — NOT nationwide; the full state list was not verified here. | Get an official quote — State page: lemonade.com/pet/us/california. Enrolment from 8 weeks appears only in a third-party review and is not stated here as an official fact. | lemonade.com, retrieved 2026-11-05 |
| Healthy Paws (a Chubb company) | Single accident and illness plan for dogs and cats (no accident-only and no wellness plan in a third-party review). Treatment, hospital stays, surgery, diagnostics, cancer and chronic conditions, alternative therapies and unlimited virtual vet visits via Airvet (comparison page). Any licensed US vet. | Any licensed US vet; unlimited virtual vet visits via Airvet (comparison page). Hip dysplasia cover if enrolled before age 6 (comparison page). | Reimbursement 50%/60%/70%/80%/90% (varies by state, age and breed); annual deductible $100/$250/$500/$750/$1,000/$1,500/$3,000/$5,000 (newer specification; the older specification was $100–$1,000 only); annual limit $5,000/$7,000 or Unlimited (newer specification), with no per-incident or lifetime caps in that specification. Enrolment from 8 weeks through 13 years (product-specification sheets). Waiting periods and pre-existing rules were NOT verified on an official page and are not filled in here. | Not published | Quote-only / not published; no official national average was verified. | Official page — Tracking parameters stripped; the clean path is the same comparison page. Use the domain quote tool, not an ad link. “Licensed in all US states plus DC” is third-party review, not official verified, and is not stated here as fact. | healthypawspetinsurance.com, retrieved 2026-11-05 |
| Trupanion | One simple plan for dogs and cats: 90% of covered vet costs, with no annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limits on eligible conditions. Diagnostics, treatment, hospital stays, surgery and medications for new injuries and illnesses. Optional recovery/complementary care and pet-owner assistance enhancements (third-party summaries). VetDirect Pay at participating hospitals. Any licensed vet in the US, Puerto Rico and Canada. | VetDirect Pay at participating hospitals; any licensed vet in the US, Puerto Rico and Canada. | Deductible $0–$1,000, LIFETIME per-condition (paid once per condition for life, no annual reset). Waiting: 5 days for injuries, 30 days for illnesses; conditions arising in the waiting period are treated as pre-existing and are not covered. Exam Day Offer (30 days at no upfront cost, may waive waiting periods) via participating vets is a third-party summary needing an official-page check and is not stated here as fact. | Not published | Quote-only / not published as an official average. Price is by breed, age, location and chosen deductible; prices adjust for rising vet costs over time, not birthdays. Third-party monthly ranges for dogs and cats are NOT official and are deliberately omitted, without reproducing their figures here. | Get an official quote — Product page with a “personalised quote in under two minutes” call to action. Rates page: trupanion.com/lp/precious-pets-rates. | trupanion.com, retrieved 2026-11-05 |
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance | Complete Coverage: accidents, illnesses, exam fees, diagnostics, treatments, hereditary/congenital conditions, alternative therapies, behavioural issues and prescription food for covered conditions. Accident-Only (injury/emergency only). Preventive Care add-on (schedule-based cash back for wellness exams, vaccines, screenings, dental cleanings and flea/heartworm prevention). Annual limits reset yearly. | Annual limits reset yearly. | Annual deductible (once per year): $100/$250/$500 (official landing pages). Annual limit: $2,500/$4,000/$7,000/$10,000 “and more”. Reimbursement: 70%/80%/90%. Waiting periods and pre-existing rules were NOT verified on an official page and are not filled in here. Dogs and cats in this research; exotic cover was not verified for ASPCA. | 10% multi-pet discount on the base premium for each additional pet (official page). | Quote-only / not published; no official national average was verified. | Get an official quote — Plan and quote page. | aspcapetinsurance.com, retrieved 2026-11-05 |
| Spot Pet Insurance (US) | Accident and Illness and Accident-Only base plans plus optional Preventive Care add-ons (Gold/Platinum in a third-party summary; preventive benefits start 24 hours after purchase on the official page). Exams for qualifying illnesses, surgeries, medications, chronic and breed-specific conditions, microchip implantation (Accident and Illness) and alternative therapies (third-party summary). Any licensed vet in the US and Canada, no network. Unlimited annual-limit option, no per-incident or lifetime caps (official pages). 24/7 VetAccess helpline. | Any licensed vet in the US and Canada, no network; 24/7 VetAccess helpline. | Reimbursement up to 90% (official pages); deductible, limit and reimbursement are customisable (exact ranges vary by state and were not fully listed on the official snippet, so no range is published here). Waiting: 14 days in most states (official accident page); preventive care 24 hours. Curable pre-existing conditions may be covered after 6 months symptom- and treatment-free, except knee/ligament conditions (official cover page). A 30-day money-back guarantee if no claims, NOT available in New York, is a third-party summary and is not stated here as an official fact. | 10% multi-pet discount on pets after the first. | Published starting claim with profile and date, NOT an average: the official dog page says cover “can start as low as $15 per month” — footnote: premium from 27 Jun 2025, Accident and Illness, 80% reimbursement, $500 deductible, $5,000 annual limit, 2-year-old small mix dog in ZIP 32009. A personal price comes from a 30-second quote by age, breed, location and plan. | Get an official quote — Tracking-parameter dog URL stripped; the clean path is the same cover page. Use spotpet.com (US), not spotpetinsurance.ca. | spotpet.com, retrieved 2026-11-05 |
Sources for this table
Every figure and feature above comes from the carrier page linked in its row, as recorded in the research register on 2026-11-05. “Not published” means the research did not verify that item on a carrier or official page — it is not a zero, and it is not filled in from a third party.
- Nationwide Pet — https://www.petinsurance.com/ (petinsurance.com / nationwide.com, retrieved 2026-11-05)
- Lemonade Pet — https://www.lemonade.com/pet/dog-breeds/how-to-buy-lemonade-pet-insurance/ (lemonade.com, retrieved 2026-11-05)
- Healthy Paws (a Chubb company) — https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/pet-insurance-comparison.html (healthypawspetinsurance.com, retrieved 2026-11-05)
- Trupanion — https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance/cat-insurance (trupanion.com, retrieved 2026-11-05)
- ASPCA Pet Health Insurance — https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/pet-insurance-plan/ (aspcapetinsurance.com, retrieved 2026-11-05)
- Spot Pet Insurance (US) — https://spotpet.com/what-does-pet-insurance-cover (spotpet.com, retrieved 2026-11-05)
Eligibility and footprint warnings
- Lemonade Pet covers dogs and cats only, and as of the 22 September 2026 Kentucky launch it was in 44 states plus DC — NOT nationwide.
- Nationwide Pet's percentage, deductible and limit figures in the table come from a workplace-plan sheet, not from consumer published averages, and are labelled as such.
- Healthy Paws' deductible and limit ranges use the newer product specification; waiting periods and pre-existing rules were NOT verified on an official page and are left as “Not published”.
- ASPCA's waiting periods and pre-existing rules were likewise NOT verified on an official page and are left as “Not published”.
- Spot's 30-day money-back guarantee (not available in New York) appears only in a third-party summary and is not stated here as an official fact.
Use with our tools
Work out what you need before you shop, then compare like for like: Pet cost calculator · Accident-only tool · See also all tools and the comparison hub.
What this page is not: it is not a quote engine, it does not collect personal data, it does not rank companies as “best” or “cheapest”, and it carries no star ratings, testimonials or carrier logos. Any page that claims a single “best” company from this table is misreading it.
Disclosure
This comparison is educational only. Countrypilot.net is not an insurer, not a broker and not an agent for any company listed. Figures are carrier-published claims or examples as recorded on 2026-11-05, with their profile, date and source shown where they appear; they are not prices for you, and they may have changed since retrieval. The final price, eligibility and terms for any policy come only from the carrier or a licensed agent, and plan documents govern over any summary here. No company paid for placement, and no row is sponsored.